We’ve received a lot of requests to talk about this situation that has been going on for the better part of this year. Today on Cipher Studios, we do our best to summarize the Vic Mignogna lawsuit so far, and a few other things that have popped up in-tandem with it in the anime dubbing industry. This video was originally uploaded on October 30th, 2019. Sources: GoogleDrive with documents/filings for this case: https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/15oy4VANDr2UMN15dvlfqiM_1Qob3Jpc4 Monica Rial’s public accusation: https://twitter.com/Rialisms/status/1098028342475964417?s=20 Jamie Marchi’s public accusation: https://twitter.com/marchimark/status/1094020618327150592?s=20 Vic Mignogna’s public response: https://twitter.com/vicmignogna/status/1095899612462895104?s=20 Vic Mignogna and RWBY: https://www.polygon.com/2019/2/5/18212141/vic-mignogna-fired-rooster-teeth-rwby-sexual-harassment FUNimation’s public announcement: https://twitter.com/FUNimation/status/1095087396209770501 Vic Kicks Back GoFundMe: https://www.gofundme.com/f/vic-kicks-back Defamation: https://dictionary.law.com/Default.aspx?selected=458 Texas Defamation Laws & Standards: http://kellywarnerlaw.com/texas-defamation-laws/, https://www.mylawteam.com/business-partnership-disputes/disparagement-defamation/texas-defamation-laws/, https://dictionary.law.com/Default.aspx?selected=458, https://lawshelf.com/videos/entry/tort-law-the-rules-of-defamation Strategic Lawsuit Against Public Participation: https://anti-slapp.org/what-is-a-slapp Texas Citizens Participation Act: https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/CP/htm/CP.27.htm Reports from news outlets outside the anime sphere: https://www.dallasnews.com/news/courts/2019/08/03/anime-gets-its-metoo-moment-in-clash-between-dallas-area-voice-actors/ Dismissed with Prejudice: https://www.law.cornell.edu/wex/dismissal_with_prejudice Appeals: https://www.americanbar.org/groups/public_education/resources/law_related_education_network/how_courts_work/appeals/ Texas Rules of Appellate Court Procedure: https://www.txcourts.gov/media/1444630/texas-rules-of-appellate-procedure-updated-with-amendments-effective-912019-with-appendices.pdf Hawaii Con:http://www.hawaiicon.com/ RWBY Trailer with new Qrow voice: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NSb_sKsASzY Free! OVA with Austin Tindle as Rin: https://www.funimation.com/shows/free/build-up-of-early-spring/uncut/?lang=english&qid=undefined One Piece Stampede dub trailer: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c8HS5ZrMAho Johnny Yong Bosch as Sabo In One Piece Stampede: https://www.animenewsnetwork.com/review/one-piece-stampede/.152489 https://www.animenewsnetwork.com/encyclopedia/anime.php?id=21732 Canon Broly added to Dragon Ball FighterZ: https://www.eventhubs.com/news/2019/oct/17/first-details-about-canon-broly-surface-dragon-ball-fighterz-will-reportedly-release-soon-and-feature-permanent-transformation/ Dragon Ball FighterZ Vegito encounter quotes: https://youtu.be/dauEBBgVCy0 Dragon Ball FighterZ Gogeta encounter quotes: https://youtu.be/Azz4rkX69uA FUNimation Audio Leaks/Derek Padula on anime dub outtakes: https://thedaoofdragonball.com/blog/news/vocal-bomb-the-funimation-audio-leak-facts-fiction-and-fandom/ Our video on Lip Flaps and Japanese client demands for foreign distributors: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5Wrkvjd6GJQ Sony Financial Results: https://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/IR/library/presen/er/pdf/19q1_sonypre.pdf Funimation-Wakanim-Madman joint venture: https://www.funimation.com/blog/sony-pictures-television-and-aniplex-announce-global-anime-streaming-merger/ Please consider supporting us on Patreon: https://www.patreon.com/TheCartoonCipher And follow us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/CartoonCipher Written & narrated by @MrAJCosplay Special Thanks to @MrNiesGuy for editing most of the video Studio Art Assets by @jermacattack Thumbnail Art done by @alejandropupo_ #VicMignogna #Funimation #Lawsuit

The Cartoon Cipher